Regency Wednesdays

My 9-5 working week consists of two days’ librarianship, one day’s postdoctoral musicology, and then two more days of librarianship.  In principle, my evenings are my own, but I’m currently doing a PGCert (Learning and Teaching in Higher Arts Education), so if I’m going to work in my evenings, it should be towards that.  It doesn’t always work that way, though.  Life has a habit of getting in the way, and sometimes I have writing to do in connection with research.

Tonight, however, I’m enjoying a hiatus.  I am shortly due to submit my ethical approval forms for the PGCert project, and I can’t actually do much until I get approval. The interventions are recorded.  I wasn’t going to turn the questionnaire into a Survey Monkey online one, but I’m having second thoughts now, wondering whether I ought to do so.  I shall seek advice, and then there should be time to create an online survey if I decide to do it.houses-1014074_640

Meanwhile, I’m sitting with an open research notebook and 68 pages of data; last Wednesday I calculated I was two-thirds of the way through transferring it into an Excel spreadsheet.  I’ve reached the end of George IV’s reign, on the cusp of the data for William IV’s, and by the end of tomorrow I should be into the Victorian era.  Can I resist an hour or so this evening, pushing on with the task in hand?  I don’t think so!  It has taken such a long time to get this far, and I really want to start producing interesting graphs – I can’t get started until the whole spreadsheet is completed.

 

Leave a Reply

