North to St Andrews?!

It would appear that the lady cataloguer who listed St Andrews University Library’s legal deposit music, was actually English!  (I’m not about to spill the beans yet, though.) I’ve had great fun finding what she borrowed – books as well as music – and I’ve even tracked down her immediate family.  But BEST of all, this morning, was finding another brother.  I just knew there had to be one.

And another surprise this morning was finding that, far from my initial perception that students didn’t borrow music, some borrowed an absolute mountain of music.  An incredible amount!  (Which means I’ll need to check whether they went on borrowing it after 1814, ho-hum.  Just when I thought I only needed to investigate the professors and their friends…)

Eventually, I will have a very full picture of what the staff and students at St Andrews thought of their music collection, in the early 19th century.  You’re in for a surprise!

Leave a Reply

