Seashells and Horticulture – the Lady Cataloguer

Wednesdays are my research days, so yesterday saw me getting up at 5.30 am to go to St Andrews on a (musicologically speaking) field-trip.  I discovered that, way back in 1826, the lady cataloguer of the Copyright Music Collection had what we would now call her own library account!  (Well, a professor borrowed on her behalf, but she had a page in one of the books.)

My interest is in the music and the use made of it, but I must admit it was quite exciting to get a glimpse into what interested this woman when she wasn’t writing up the music catalogue!

(LATER, MONTHS LATER)

I’m astonished that this was my most popular posting! I now know so much more about this lady cataloguer. She borrowed a lot of books, especially on her favourite subjects. She identified shells, was cited in books, married in middle-age and died at a ripe old age in Islington.  And … wait for this – she and I were born in the same parish in Lancaster. Quite a remarkable coincidence!

One thought on “Seashells and Horticulture – the Lady Cataloguer”

Leave a Reply

