A Finale Flute Trio: French Fraternity

French Fraternity

It has been a busy weekend! I’ve arranged three late 18th/early 19th century tunes about the Napoleonic Wars, for flute trio.  I’ve thought about and interrogated data for a possible paper later this year.  I’ve attended a Musica Scotica Board meeting.  Played at church.  Done the domesticity stuff.  And spent about five hours revising a paper for a workshop on Friday.  It was a perfectly good paper, but I felt that I needed to go over it, highlighting keywords etc. Somehow, some bits got rearranged in the process.

The flute trio was a bit of an indulgence, in one sense, but I’m giving a paper at the ISME music education conference in July, and my arrangement demonstrates that you can find unexpected gems in old music sources, not only finding nice pieces to perform, but also informing yourself about many aspects of cultural history into the bargain.  That’s the subject of my paper, so why not arrange some music to prove my point?!

 

Leave a Reply

