Unashamedly Research

Not a blogpost about teaching and learning, or even about librarianship – just an update.

October 2012 – October 2015 I was seconded as 40% postdoctoral researcher to the AHRC-funded Bass Culture project, which resulted in the Historical Music of Scotland database at hms.scot

October 2015 – April 2016 my secondment continued to enable me to start a new research project of my own, Claimed from Stationers’ Hall, in which I’m investigating the post-deposit history of historic legal deposit music.

This was effectively a part-time sabbatical, and it’s been great – I have really got my teeth into this new area of research, visiting the collection at the University of St Andrews once a week and giving a paper about it at the IAML (UK and Ireland) Annual Study Weekend in Manchester a couple of weeks ago.  (I’m repeating it at Musica Scotica 2016, and I have more engagements lined up in St Andrews to share the story of their collection with anyone who’ll listen!)

April 2016 – July 2018.  My secondment has been extended, now for one day a week over 28 months.  I’m ecstatic! I really do feel this endorses me as a researcher, and I’m obviously going to keep working on grant applications, as well as delving more deeply into the St Andrews material now that I have more time in which to do it.  Not to mention other collections!

My name is Karen and I am a researcher …

 

Leave a Reply

