Time Management

So, here we have a conundrum.  Do I blog about my daytime activities, or my evening ones?

By day?  I’ve just spent two days with my research head in the eighteenth century, but with one eye looking at digital possibilities for future developments.  I’d like to crunch a lot of data (“big data”) from nine or so different libraries, so that I can essentially stir it up and see what comes out of it.  At the moment I’m just looking at catalogues and websites to see how much of the data is available online in the first place.

By night, I’m a PGCert student, and I have two Scottish music classes to prepare for.  I’ve just been looking at last year’s e-portfolio (you can see it under the tab E-Portfolio 2014), to see which pedagogical strands particularly excited me, so that I can focus on those as I put together a theoretical account and a lesson plan for each class.  That led me to create a new page, E-Portfolio 2015-2016, ready for when I upload the assessment components later on in the course.  (Sorry if you looked and were disappointed to find it empty just now – that’s the reason why!)

So … I see that I warmed to constructive alignment as a pedagogy.  I had the chance to acquire some new textbooks published by Sage, a few months ago, so I got a shiny new book for just this purpose:- Constructivist Learning Design: Key Questions for Teaching to Standards, by George W. Gagnon, Jr., and Michelle Collay (2006).

I also got a new book for the Library, not so long ago:- How we Learn: the Surprising Truth about When, Where, and Why it Happens, by Benedict Carey (2014).  More reading for me!  I’ll spend a bit of time reading, then get back to my teaching remit, to give the reading a chance to influence my practice.

My Teaching Remit

  • Year 1. A session exploring historic examples of tradition in performance.
  • Year 2. A session exploring nationalism in traditional music (historical examples/ perspectives).

Concepts underpinning Module

  1. identity
  2. authenticity
  3. intention
  4. tradition/folk

First things first – if I am going to flip the classroom, then I don’t get to stand up in front and lecture for an hour!!  So, how to get a group of students that I have barely met, to engage with the topic and its concepts?  That’s my challenge.

Did I mention Flipping the Classroom?  In the Guardian’s Higher Education Network today, I’ve just spotted this:-

Will Video Kill the Lecturing Star?  It’s about setting assignments to watch short video clips and answer questions – AS WELL AS doing the required reading.  Interesting.

 

 

Leave a Reply

