The Doctor Will See You Now. (Yes, the Doctor!)

I hesitate to blog about this, but I feel I should.  I received a distressing phonecall at home the other day when I was off work and shortly to attend a medical appointment. There are some sick individuals out there!  He used my full name, called me “horrible and pretentious” (I hope I’m not), accused me of calling myself “Doctor” when I wasn’t a General Practitioner, then finished with “IDIOT!”, and put the phone down. Not knowing the difference between PhD and GP would be ignorance, of course.  Anyone who knows me knows what a PhD is – and how hard I worked to get mine!

What I find disturbing, on the other hand, is the thought that the caller must have known me to have had such a well-thought out, articulate script. To answer my greeting so sharply with what they calculated would be a suitable barb takes either a quick mind or premeditated malice.  Did the caller know I would be at home that day, when normally I would be at work?  (Hardly anyone did know.)  Or did they just get lucky when I answered?

So, is this an ignorant but quick-thinking bully, or someone who knows me – or knows of me?  If the former – shame on you.  Get a PhD and you, too can call yourself “Doctor” without being pretentious. If you do know me – or of me and mine – then rest assured we’ll find out who you are.

Leave a Reply

