Professional Engagement – Part of my Identity!

Piano badge
Conference badge (Library Camp Glasgow)

The past month has been something of a whirlwind!  I’ve been to four conferences, been to a seminar, convened a plenary, had a couple of pieces published in the IAML(UK and Ireland) Newsletter, and done the blogposts you see here.  What I haven’t done is update my CPD record on my professional association’s virtual learning network.  Not that I haven’t done any CPD (as you see, I’ve done plenty!), but because I’ve had no time to do the updating!

  • 20-21 October: Understanding Scotland Musically, AHRC-funded conference at the University of Newcastle.  I gave a paper: ‘Wynds, Vennels and Dual Carriageways: the Changing Nature of Scottish Music’.  Subsequently invited to submit abstract for proposed book.
  • 25 October (Saturday): Musical Life outside London, 1500-1800, University of Newcastle.
  • 29 October: Seminar at the University of St Andrews (as invited guest, not speaker).
  • 6 November: Convened SALCTG Plenary at Glasgow Caledonian University.
  • Glasgow Mitchell Library8 November (Saturday): Library Camp Glasgow, Mitchell Library.  Gave presentation, ‘Do you Practise what you Preach?’, and one-minute rant, ‘Diigo and Me’.
  • 11 November,  IAML (UK and Ireland) Newsletter: no.69, 2014, pp.14-16,  ‘Raising the Bar: a Targeted User Education Policy’; also my report of the IAML Conference in Antwerp this July: ‘Ian Ledsham Bursary Recipient Report, pp. 4-7.
  • 13-15 November: ELIA Biennial Conference (European League of Institutes of the Arts, at the Royal Concert Hall.NeuNow2014 henhouse exhibit

Clearly, I need to sit down and read through the notes and tweeted observations I made at this week’s big conference, not to mention updating my CV with the presentations I gave, and so on.  Right now my brain feels a bit like your stomach feels after Christmas dinner.  Lots of good stuff to digest, but in danger of indigestion!

Leave a Reply

