Opportunities are Always There – and They Come in Threes

Another Door Opens …

This week, I’ve offered to write an article about an aspect of our musicology research project, for a librarianship Door opensjournal.  That’s a win-win opportunity, because not only does it benefit the research project and my CV, it also covers both musicology (my research interest) and librarianship (my profession)!

I expressed interest in a librarianship social event – and was invited to write an article for that group, too.

Today I committed the work-life balance cardinal sin of checking my work emails on a Sunday evening.  Well, it’s a good thing I ‘sinned’, as my inbox contained an invitation to contribute to another encyclopedia.  As before, my initial reaction was, ‘Is this me?’  Since it was plainly more ‘me’ than the last encyclopedia, there was no excuse – I had to look at the list of topics still awaiting authors.  In for a penny, in for a pound – I expressed interest in five articles, so I look forward to hearing which, if any, I get asked to do!

So there you are – three unexpected opportunities. There is the risk I may need to take a few days’ holiday to meet my deadlines, but we’ll cross that bridge when we come to it.

Oh, and I submitted an article to another librarianship journal about a week ago, too.  Well, you never know!

Leave a Reply

